top of page

Reduce recidivism, improve public safety and empower justice-involved and formerly incarcerated individuals to reach their human potential

We envision a transformative, evidence-based, comprehensive community-based adult reentry program. We seek and nurture broad-based community collaborations with law enforcement, local government, providers, churches, businesses, peer mentors/supporters, and other people who care to help people create the change they want to see in their lives after incarceration. 

Our Mission. 

Our Vision. 

The Backstory. 


The Liberty County Re-Entry Coalition, Inc. was founded in 2012 by a group of elected officials and community minded individuals who saw community-based reentry services as part of the solution to reduce recidivism and promote public safety. State Representative Al Williams led the charge, appointed a steering committee, and continues to support the initiative even to this day. 

In 2014, the Coalition activated a steering team to assess the need, inspire community engagement, and build capacity. The Coalition held monthly stakeholder meetings during a 24-month program design and implementation process, during which several focus groups with those with lived-experiences to inform and validate the planning.


The SOAR Re-Entry Center, Community-based Adult Re-Entry Program officially opened for direct service to formerly incarcerated individuals on September 14, 2016. Hundreds of stakeholders witnessed a flagship model which has been recognized across the state. Liberty County was also selected as one of seventeen Georgia Prison Re-Entry Initiative Sites by the Governor's Office of Transition, Support, and Reentry (GOTSR). Though the Liberty County Re-Entry Coalition, Inc. did not receive state funding, it has strategically sustained the SOAR Re-Entry Center to serve hundreds of formerly incarcerated individuals with support from local agencies, caring citizens, faith-based organizations, and social organizations. 



Kenneth Howard, Board Chair

Michele Freeney-Washington, Vice Chair

Morris Cockerm, Secretary

Fanchon Powe, Treasurer

John Slappy

Victoria Allen

Mamie Thomas

Jeffrey Porter, Jr. 

Henry Knox, Jr. 

Captain Joseph McEady, LCSO

Emmanuel Joyner

State Representative Al Williams, D-168


Daisy Jones, Executive Director 

Peggy Littles, Case Manager (Intern)

Lauren Tews, Navigator (Intern) 

John Slappy, Mentor

Madilynn Scriven, Program Assistant

Evangeline Pate, Program Assistant

E. Housey, Program Support

Read More >

  Are you interested in becoming a member of the Community Re-Entry Council?   

bottom of page